Building Inner Strength

Building Inner Strength

Online via zoom

time 7:00 PM

Every Thursday from




Exploring Universal Values with the 16 Guidelines for Life

The 16 Guidelines for Life (16G) are a secular framework of ethical values based on a simple idea. We can change the way we experience the world, by reflecting on and transforming the way we think, act, relate to others and find meaning.

Here is the link to join zoom

Weekly sessionsĀ 

Each 90 minute session focuses on one guideline with a focus on experiential learning coming not just from an intellectual perspective, but from the heart. The session structure is as follows:

  • Introductions
  • Mindfulness Meditation
  • Introduction (or recap) of the Wisdom Theme for the session
  • Introduction of the Guideline for the session
  • Guided meditation on the Guideline
  • Group Discussion on the Guideline and its relationship to happiness
  • Reflection on the Guideline by bringing to mind an experience from the past
  • Discuss what arose for participants from the Reflection
  • Closing meditation


What are the 16 Guidelines for Life ?

Discoveries in neuroscience suggest that each of us has the potential to continue developing and transforming our minds, from birth until death. The 16G can help us to do this in a way that will benefit both ourselves and others. If you change your mind, you change your life.

The 16G were inspired by an ethical code written by King Songtsen Gampo in 7th century Tibet to guide his citizens. The code played a crucial part in the transformation of Tibet from a warlike nation into a civilization renowned for its peace and serenity. The 16G are a contemporary presentation of this ancient wisdom.

The aim of the 16 Guidelines for Life program is to help people create long-term happiness and fulfilment for themselves and others. Each guideline represents a universal value or attitude, which is rooted in the foundations of compassion and wisdom. Compassion is the primary attitude leading to personal and collective happiness. Wisdom, defined as an understanding of our mind and of the reality of the world, is key to developing compassion. Embodying these 16 universal attitudes can facilitate lasting change in our minds in the direction of happiness and fulfilment.

For inquiries, please contact Arunas: [email protected]

This program is 1 1/2 hours long